Campers heading to Sochi 2014 Olympics

February 5, 2014

We want to congratulate all of our campers and coaches who have been picked to represent their countries at the 2014 Sochi Olympic Winter Games!


With 14 campers and 14 coaches (of which 7 were both former campers and now coaches) named to represent their countries, we’ll be cheering them all on!

At the last Olympics, Vancouver 2010, 4 of the 6 medalists in Moguls were Momentum campers.
Including Olympic Gold for Alex Bilodeau, here with camper Berkley Brown. The cycle of a camper.


This is the first time Halfpipe skiing will be featured in the Olympics. Slopestyle will also debut at Sochi, which will be sure to give the unknowing world their first glimpse into another level of our sport.

A look down the slopestyle course. Photo: James Woodsy Woods


Former Campers heading to Sochi

Mike Riddle(CDN), Roz Groenewoud(CDN), Noah Bowman(CDN), Matt Margetts(CDN), Keltie Hansen(CDN), Megan Gunning(CDN-injured)

James ‘Woodsy’ Woods(GB), Dara Howell (CDN), Yuki Tsubota(CDN), Julia Krass(USA)

Alex Bilodeau(CDN), Dale Begg-Smith(AUS), Angeli Van Laanen(USA), Pat Deneen(USA), Aiko Uemura(JPN)
Dale Begg-Smith started young with Momentum and won Olympic Gold in 2006 and Silver in 2010.


Momentum Coaches competing in Sochi

Justin Dorey(CDN), Anais Caradeux(FRA), Roz Groenewoud(CDN), Noah Bowman(CDN), Matt Margetts(CDN), Mike Riddle(CDN), Megan Gunning(CDN – injured)

Alex Bilodeau(CDN), Mikaël Kingsbury(CDN), Phil Marquis(CDN)

James ‘Woodsy’ Woods(GB), Gus Kenworthy(USA), Joss Christensen(USA), Kaya Turski (Can)

James Woodsy Woods’ first triple corked 1440


National Team Coaches

We’d also like to give a shout out to Momentum coaches now coaching national teams: Trennon Paynter and Marc McDonnel (Team CDN Pipe), Toben Sutherland (Team CDN Slope), Chris Turpin & Mauro Nunez (Team RUS Pipe), Jim Schiman and Darcy Downs (Team RUS, Moguls).

National teams from 10 countries have trained with us for the past two summers, including Canada Slope & Pipe, USA Slope & Pipe, Russia Slope & Pipe, New Zealand Pipe, Great Britain Slope & Pipe, Brazil Slope, Japan Pipe, Australia, France, Belarus.

Byron watching Jossi Wells (NZ Team)

We wish everyone the very best and are proud they will be representing the sport of Freestyle Skiing to the world.


Women’s Moguls Qualifiers – Thursday, February 6th
CBC – 6:00am-6:45am PST / 9:00am-9:45am EST

Women’s Moguls Finals – Saturday, February 8th
Sportsnet – 8:45am-9:30am EST
CBC – 1pm-2:30pm EST

Men’s Mogul Qualifiers and Finals – Monday, February 10th
Sportsnet –  5:55am-7:20am PST / 8:55am-10:20am EST
CBC – 6:00am-6:45am PST / 9:00am-9:45am EST
CBC – 10:00am-11:35am PST / 1:00pm – 2:35pm EST

Women’s Ski Slopestyle Qualifiers – Monday, February 10th
TSN –  10:00pm-12:45pm PST / 1:00am-3:45am EST

Women’s Ski Slopestyle Finals – Tuesday, February 11th
TSN – 12:55am-2:05am PST / 3:45am-5:05am EST
CBC – 1:00am-2:00am PST / 4:00am-5:00am EST
NBC – 8:00pm-11:30 pm (all time zones)

Men’s Ski Slopestyle Qualifiers – Thursday, February 13th 
Sportsnet – 10:10pm-12:00am PST(night of Jan 12th) / 1:10am-3:00am EST

Men’s Ski Slopestyle Finals – Thursday, February 13th
CBC – 1:30am-2:45am PST / 4:30am-5:45am EST
NBC – 8:00pm-11:30pm (all time zones)

Men’s Ski Halfpipe Qualifiers – Tuesday, February 18th
Sportsnet – 5:30am-7:25 PST / 8:30am-10:25am EST

Men’s Ski Halfpipe Finals – Tuesday, February 18th
TSN – 9:25am-10:30 PST / 12:25pm-1:30pm EST
NBC – 8:00pm-11:30pm (all time zones)

Women’s Ski Halfpipe Qualifiers – Thursday, February 20th
Sportsnet – 6:15am-7:45am PST / 9:15am-10:45am EST

Women’s Ski Halfpipe Finals – Thursday, February 20th
Sportsnet – 9:15am-10:25 PST / 12:15pm-1:25pm EST
CBC – 12:00pm-1:00pm PST / 3:00pm-4:00pm EST
NBC – 8:00pm-11:30pm (all time zones)